NORTHEASTERN SOCIETY OF PLASTIC SURGEONS Annual Business Meeting Saturday, September 9, 2017 12:30 PM Newport Marriott Newport, Rhode Island

MINUTES

1. Call to Order and Welcome

President Jeffrey Ascherman welcomed everyone to Newport and called the 34th Annual Meeting of the Northeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons to order at 12:51 PM on Saturday, September 9, 2017. He appointed Drs. Kristen Broderick, Tara Huston and David Otterburn as tellers to collect and compile the membership ballots. Dr. Broderick was asked to serve as the head teller.

He asked Dr. Justin Sacks, Parliamentarian, to confirm that there was a quorum present. Dr. Sacks confirmed a quorum.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the October 15, 2016 Annual Business Meeting

Dr. Ascherman indicated that the minutes of the October 15, 2016 Annual Business meeting had been distributed previously and asked for a motion to approve the minutes.

It was **VOTED** to approve the minutes of the October 15, 2016 Annual Business meeting as distributed.

3. Secretary's Report

Dr. Brian Glatt reported that the membership remained solid. The current membership totaled 660 comprised of 343 Active, 127 Life, 37 Candidate, 8 Associate, 5 Honorary and 140 Resident members. He noted the solid jump in Resident members.

The following members have requested transfer to Life Fellows status and this slate has been approved by your Board:

Bruce M. Topol

The following members have resigned from the Society:

Nolis Arkoulakis

Dr. Ascherman reported that there had been 21 applications received for membership. They included 18 for Active membership and 3 for Candidate membership. He thanked Drs. John Potochny and Howard Langstein for their excellent work this past year.

4. <u>Report of the President</u>

Dr. Ascherman noted a lot of hard work by a lot of people this past year resulted in exciting growth and new endeavors. The 2017 Spring Workshop was a great success; Drs. Mehrara and Otterburn have the 2018 Spring Workshop well underway focused on brow and upper lid. Dr. Au has been working with the Young Plastic Surgeons on a social media section of the website and a mentoring program. Dr. Deepak Narayan has been working on a Traveling Fellowship which would differ from a Visiting Professor in that this would be a visit to the Professor. A partnership with the Annals had been made to publish all of the abstracts from the Annual Meeting. A resident representative has been added to the Board and a call for nominations will be sent to the membership with the final selection by the Nominating Committee. The program this year has been scheduled to end early so that attendees will have more social time and the President's Run, which will be followed by a cocktail reception.

5. Treasurer's Report

Dr. Taub presented the Society's financial status noting Assets of \$246,000 with \$77,950 in the checking account, \$2,539 in the savings and \$165,512 in the investment account through the ASPS pooled investments. Total revenue through July 31, 2017 was \$152,322 and expenses of \$165,364 with the addition of \$13,346 in investment earnings, the financials reports recognized a surplus \$304. He also reported that the shared investment account with ASPS is continually being reviewed.

It was VOTED to approve the report of the Treasurer.

6. <u>Report of the Tellers</u>

Dr. Broderick reported that all applicants have been elected and will be inducted into membership as the Class of 2017. Newly elected members for the Class of 2017 are:

Active Members Keith S. Berman Jerome Chao Alphonsus L. Doerr, Jr. Heather R. Faulkner Louis Iorio Badar Jan Melissa Johnson Mehul Kamdar Marc D. Liang Derek Masden Martha S. Matthews Karoline Nowillo Shwetambara Parakh **Benjamin Schlechter** Sachin M. Shridharani Aleksandr Shteynberg David Tauber

Candidate Members

Umbareen Mahmood Ran Y. Stark Elzabeth G. Zellner

7. <u>Report of the Program Committee</u>

Program Chair Dr. Christine Rohde expressed her appreciation to everyone on the Program Committee who helped put the program together. She reported that 261 abstracts were received all of extremely high quality; 122 were accepted for oral presentations and 13 for posters. She reported that the registration for this meeting was 198.

8. Nominating Committee Report

Dr. Raymond Dunn presented the slate of candidates on behalf of the Nominating Committee:

President:	Babak Mehrara
Vice President:	Peter Taub
Treasurer:	John Potochny
Secretary:	Brian Glatt
Historian:	Jeffrey Gusenoff
Member-at-Large:	Janice Lalikos

It was **VOTED** to approve the slate as presented.

Dr. Ascherman called for nominations from the floor for the Nominating Committee for next year. The following people were elected:

Bernard Lee Christine Rohde Vu Nguyen

9. Future Meetings

Dr. Ascherman announced that the 35th Annual Meeting of the NESPS will be held at the Renaissance Boston, October 26-28, 2018.

10. Old Business

There was no old business to come before the Society.

11. <u>New Business</u>

Dr. Ascherman called incoming President, Dr. Babak Mehrara to the podium. Dr. Mehrara presented the Presidential plaque to Dr. Ascherman and thanked him for all of the work and new initiatives that had been accomplished during the past year. Dr. Mehrara expressed his appreciation for the honor of being elected President of the NESPS and looks forward to a very exciting year ahead. He noted that Dr. Otterburn has the Spring Symposium well underway and it will be a great program.

There being no further business to come before the membership, Dr. Mehrara adjourned the meeting at 1:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Glatt, M.D. Secretary